[Frost] E. Latimer

This cover is just stunning.

This cover is just stunning.

I’ve read several books now that have gotten their start on Wattpad and I think this is the first one that I absolutely loved. Frost tells the story of Megan, a girl who recently moved to Canada with her family after she accidentally froze the first boy that she kissed. Canada is as far temperature-wise from California as you can get, and Megan is worried about how she’ll settle in at her new school. She doesn’t have long to worry about that. After meeting a group of girls who look like her, Megan is just beginning to wrap her head around what that may mean before being kidnapped in the middle of the night. Suddenly part of the world of the Frost and Fire Jotun, these figures from Norse mythology believe that Megan will play a pivotal role in their war. Megan has to decide who she believes which is a difficult decision when both sides are keeping things from you. Megan struggles to figure out who she can trust as time is running out.

When I started reading Frost I was concerned that a chunk of the novel was going to be spent in the halls of the high school with all of its drama and uninteresting problems. When a novel is meant to be about a girl stuck between two sides of war between Norse giants, that’s what I want to read immediately. Thankfully, the scenes in the high school only existed to show how strange it was that there were several clone-like girls who all go to the same high school. I really enjoyed the inclusion of Norse mythology. I’m not as familiar with it as I am with Greek mythology, but it was cool recognizing names and places in the story. As soon as Loki showed up I knew he was going to be the Trickster. That colors my view of him because I expect that his role in Norse mythology will come up at some point in the series.

E. Latimer got away from the problem in YA novels of “what are the parents doing while their child gallivants all over the world?” by writing the normal world out of it. Such a small percentage of this book is spent in the real world that we don’t have enough time to connect with anyone in it. The icy setting of Jutunheim is quite separate. A castle made of glittering ice and lit up by magic? I’d probably forget about home for a while too. However, they are still there. I was frustrated that other than writing her uncle a letter that probably worried him more, her family was not really mentioned again. The only problem I had with the Jutunheim setting was the modern technology. Most of the time Megan spent there consisted of great hall dinners, training with weaponry, and spending time in a vast library with shelves upon wooden shelves. It was very jarring to read about computers and cameras later on in the story. Modern technology was mentioned so infrequently that when it was, it was like cellphones suddenly showed up in Game of Thrones.

Something that I did really love about Frost was the lack of girl hate. I don’t recall any unnecessary insults thrown around. It was just the standard pettiness when  girls got jealous over things. There was a strong friendship between Charlotte and Megan that remained steady even when they were confronted with difficult decisions and the prospect of romance. It’s nice to read a friendship where the two involved realize that the friendship will last far longer than anything they’re up against. They supported each other unconditionally, and when they needed to decide something, they checked with the other before doing it. It was refreshing to read a friendship between girls that didn’t devolve into insults over something stupid.  I hope it remains that way as the series progresses.

I grew more disappointed the longer I read only because I could see the percentage left in my book dwindling. I read most of the book in two large chunks of time. If it had been a weekend I would have read it all in one go. It was a very exciting  story in a setting that was very detailed. I’m looking forward to the next novel in the series! I hope it comes out soon.

4 stars.

I received a copy of Frost from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Frost was published on August 25th, 2015.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Author Interview with E. Latimer | a cup of tea and an armful of books

Leave a Reply

