Author Interview with E. Latimer

*・゜ I was very glad to get into contact with E. Latimer, the author of Frost, for an interview! Frost is the first in a (likely) series that I wish was finished so I could binge-read them immediately and be a zombie from lack of sleep. But without further ado, let’s get to the interview!

3422739Hello, E. Latimer! I’m very glad to have you here at [a cup full of tea and an armful of books]! (Or at least as “here” as you can be on the internet…*ahem*). I absolutely loved your book! For those who haven’t had a chance to check it out yet, Frost is a young adult novel about a girl who suddenly has a touch of ice. She’s afraid of touching anyone for fear of harming them. It turns out that Norse Giants are very interested in her powers. When she’s suddenly told she’s part of their conflict, she has to decide who is telling the truth: the Queen who believes in the end of days prophecy or the side who has a burning grudge. Of course, first she has to decide if she believes in this world of magic, ice, and fire.

*・゜Where did your inspiration for Frost come from? 

EL: I basically asked readers on Wattpad “What do you want to see next?” and someone said “a winter themed fantasy”. I’d just moved to Grande Prairie, Alberta, so it seemed perfect. And I’d always loved the idea of jotun.

*・゜I loved the inclusion of mythology in your book! What made you decide to focus on Norse mythology? 

EL: I’ve always loved mythology of all kinds, and frost jotun occurred to me as soon as “winter” and “fantasy” popped into my brain.

*・゜Who is your favorite character in Frost25834374

EL: I loved writing Loki, who never takes anything seriously. But I also enjoyed writing the evil queen, since she’s a bit insane. Those are my favorite types of characters. People who are a little bit nutty, since you never know what to expect from them next.

*・゜You have several stories up on Wattpad, including Frost and some companion novels. Why did you make the decision to first publish your stories on Wattpad? 

EL: I started on Wattpad three years ago. It was actually there that Frost first came to being, and I would never have published with Patchwork Press if it wasn’t for Wattpad.

*・゜As a follow-up question, did you worry about how publishing on Wattpad could affect publishing elsewhere? 

EL: It occurred to me of course, but mostly what’s come from Wattpad is some really great opportunities. And I continue to query literary agents with manuscripts that aren’t up on Wattpad, so I feel like I can do both.

*・゜Do you think you’ll continue to publish on Wattpad?

EL: Absolutely.

*・゜What is your writing process like? Do you have a favorite part?

EL: I like to have written, as many writers will admit. But I do enjoy everything as I’m doing it, even big picture edits, as much as I sometimes dread them, can be satisfying in the end.

*・゜Do you have a favorite place to write? 

EL: In my study/library. I have trouble concentrating in most other places.

*・゜What was the most difficult thing to deal with on the road to publishing Frost

EL: The revisions. I wrote Frost about four years ago, so I was not at ALL satisfied with the writing when I first started revising. It took a very long time to get it polished enough to publish.

*・゜If it’s possible to narrow it down, what is your favorite young adult novel?

EL: Wow, that’s a hard one. I’d have to say right now my favorite series is Throne of Glass.

*・゜If you could jump into the pages of a fictional world and live there, what would it be, and why?

EL: Harry Potter. I’ve always wanted magic.

*・゜I know you’re a part of the team at WordNerds. Can you tell us more about that and how often you can be found there?

EL: I can be found once a week over on the youtube channel and most Sundays during our live chat!

https://www.youtube.com/user/YAWordNerds

We talk about YA books and writing and we’re happy to answer questions and take suggestions!

*・゜What’s your favorite social media platform and where can we find you? 

EL: I’m actually a big fan of twitter and can often be found rambling to myself over here:

https://twitter.com/ELatimerWrites

*・゜Do you have any plans for the future? I hope you’re continuing the story started in Frost!

EL: Right now I’m working on what feels like a dozen different projects. And yes, one of them is the second Frost book.

*・゜And lastly, do you have any tips for aspiring writers, be they Wattpad authors or otherwise?

EL: Write because you love to write. Don’t let anyone tell you it’s not realistic, or it won’t make you money, or you’re not good enough. None of that matters when you really love what you’re doing.

*・゜A huge thank you to E. Latimer for being such a great interviewee! I’m excited to see what happens in the next book, but in the meantime, I’ll be able to read her Wattpad stories! I urge you to check out Frost if you’re interested in a winter fantasy.

Leave a Reply

