Happy New Year!

Starting off the new year: Follow my blog with Bloglovin

I hope everyone had a good holiday!

Although it seems like I have been missing in action and  slow on reviewing for the past couple of months, I have been reading in an attempt to make my reading goal for 2015.

Spoiler alert: three books off. Sadface.

However, I feel pretty good about my reading and reviewing milestones in 2015! I’m a notorious slacker when it comes to posting on my personal travel / living in Japan blog (I’m fairly certain that I haven’t posted since early 2014–and I only remember this because I posted about the monumental occasion of my first local Shinkansen ride, which was a pretty big deal). This is different because I feel like I’m working toward something.

giphy

But in a really good way, of course! I really hope to work with publishing in some capacity in the future, so I’m proud of what I’ve created here. I’ve come a long way from just reading books and remembering them fondly (or in the case of a really good book, rereading them multiple times). I am still so excited whenever I can talk with the authors of books that I’ve enjoyed. I love doing this. Even if there’s times when it seems really quiet here, know that I will be back!

Anyway: A review of 2015! Thank you, goodreads, for handily having the little My Year in Books that I can check out! 97 books and 33,441 pages is pretty cool! On [a cup of tea and an armful of books] I did three author interviews and 49 young / new adult (as well as a few adult) book reviews. I hope to do more this year!

January will be a busy review month, because I have quite a few books that are waiting for their reviews. This year I’m going to try to be better about posting reviews immediately after reading the book. I tend to get very excited about the multiple books in my virtual to-be-read stack, and often go right to another book! I read a lot of good books in December and am excited to review them!

Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn: This debut novel was surprisingly enjoyable, even though there were times when the protagonist made me want to pull my hair out. It’ll be the first review out because it’s actually going to be released on January 5th! I got really behind on this one. That’s another reviewing resolution: read those NetGalley releases first!

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen: Oh, man. I LOVED this. My amazon giftcard will be going toward the next in the series. Fantasy and alternate history. One of my favorites of 2015.

Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine: This is one of the only physical books that I read in 2015 after winning it in a contest! Super exciting. I couldn’t bring my kindle when I had to make a visit to the Embassy, so I was glad that I had an engaging book to read! It’s one of those alternative history / fantasy books, which I love.

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness: Another debut, although it’s been out a few years. Forbidden love and fantasy. Usually a good combination. This hit the mark for most of the book.

I hope that everyone had a wonderful year! I’m looking forward to seeing what books 2016 brings!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

