[Carry On] Rainbow Rowell

 

28356624

There’s been thousands of reviews written for Carry On, so I’ll try to make this brief.

Carry On is about Simon Snow, a powerful mage who’s meant to stop the threat against magic. The only thing he wants to do is finish up his last year at school in peace–if everything will stop trying to kill him.

I never read Fangirl. As I understand it through my review scanning, Carry On contains the characters and story that a character in Fangirl was writing fanfiction about. That’s the only thing that connects the two stories, because this is a story in its own right. It was a little frustrating reading this novel at first because I felt that it was a Harry Potter knockoff. This is sort of a last book in a series, but the problem is, the other books don’t exist. Simon took us through the past six years at the beginning of the book, and a lot of that had similar qualities to Harry Potter. Coupled with the fact that a lot of it was exposition, I was tempted to put it down.

Eventually it picked up and became enough of its own book that the only connection to Harry Potter I made was that it had magic in it. It was the gritty version of Harry Potter. Things advanced fairly quickly once the action started. There’s a sped up quality to the writing because there’s a ton of dialogue and not many action tags. I did end up liking the story line once it had become less like the aforementioned series and more of it’s own thing, but it took a little too long to properly enjoy it.

I loved Simon and Baz, and felt that some of the other chapters with different perspectives were not really necessary. Since the story is mostly about them I would have preferred it to be only in their perspectives. I would have actually been interested in reading a couple more of the books to see how their roommate relationship developed to what it is in Carry On.

I did enjoy the story and I’m willing to check out another Rainbow Rowell book–I’m thinking about Fangirl because it seems like I’d enjoy it based on what it’s about. Her books are definitely “devour in one sitting” worthy, but I haven’t quite found the one that I love yet.

3 stars.

I received a copy of Carry On from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

