Time for Summer Reading: My July Books

I have a problem. A good problem, but a problem nevertheless.

Recently, I was checking my email–primarily deleting spam, of course–when I clicked on one from NetGalley. It’s nice to be updated when new titles are available, but most of the time it’s not something I’m 100 percent interested in. This time, I hit the jackpot. A while back I heard about a manga called Monstress and saw a little bit of the art in the pages that were being teased. It looked absolutely stunning, with a great sounding story to boot, so I’m excited that I have the opportunity to check it out.

That’s just one of the many that I want to finish up this month! As usual, I want to read a bunch of fantasy novels. Some have a more modern setting than others, but they’re all ones that I’m really looking forward to!

*****

I received several advance reading copies from NetGalley. A lot of them will be fall releases. Depending on the publisher’s wishes, reviews may not be revealed until it’s closer to the release date!

28818313

Historical fiction, flappers, and Hemopaths–humans whose blood gives them abilities. October 2016.

24426209

The review for this will most likely be me gushing about how stunningly beautiful I find the art. Collected edition, July 2016.

23347746

Two girls who were affected by 9/11 differently have their stories told together in the past and present. August 2016.

27705018

Angels and Demons: the children of Heaven and Hell are among us–and they can never fall in love. October 2015

I hope that I get to the last on this list, but as I’m doing some traveling at the end of the month, I’m not 100% sure if I’ll make it to the end!

*****

The books that I’m pretending I won’t read this month but probably won’t be able to resist:

17347389

Continuation of the series. Paranormal, little bit of romance, and it hopefully continues the lovely friendships. Check out The Raven Boys before this one!

…and likely the third in the series, if I’m being truly honest.

*****

I’m very excited to read the group read this month!

27774758

Inspired by Ancient Rome. Two people are fighting against their roles in this brutal world and they may be the change that their world needs. February 2016.

*****

Of course, chances are I’ll read more than this. Reading is the best way to keep cool in the heat.  Happy summer reading!

Leave a Reply

