[The Delphi Effect] Rysa Walker

30439157

Anna is a normal girl with an unusual and sometimes debilitating talent. She picks up the ghosts of people who have something they want to do before they move on. When they move on, they leave her with their knowledge, so she’d probably be the best person to have on your trivia team. Sometimes it’s simple, like a goodbye or an apology to a brother; other times it’s a little more time consuming, like that time her ghost hitchhiker wanted her to finish a crossword puzzle; other times it’s downright dangerous. Until Molly, Anna’s life had been living moment to moment: going to her job, her therapist, and dealing with the occasional friendly, but annoying, ghost. When she picks up Molly at the shelter, Molly wants justice for her murder–and she won’t leave until she has it. Thrown headlong into a nearly cold investigation, Anna realizes that it’s much more complicated than a murder. And the people who committed it will do anything to get her once they learn what she can do.

The Delphi Effect was one of those books that I wasn’t sure I would like. I’ve mentioned before that I’m a little leery of paranormal / ghost young adult novels, so I tried to hold that feeling back until I got further into the book. At first it was a little slow because Rysa Walker needed to build the world, but at some point without even realizing it, I was further along in the book and couldn’t put it down. I can’t quite put my finger on what it was that the author did. I’m not sure if it was the slow way that the plot built or the depth of the characters, but the blend made for an entertaining novel.

This novel has several plot elements that were blended together seamlessly. There’s a murder-mystery, the threat of a government entity, and ghosts. I didn’t think that it would work as successfully as it did. I was really impressed with the world-building that occurred while the plot moved along. One wasn’t slowed for the other. I felt that it was genuinely unique; just futuristic enough without being too much or too scientific.

The characters were great. Although The Delphi Effect focused on Anna, the supporting characters were just as well thought out. Each character’s personality was revealed slowly through their actions and words, rather than too much of Anna’s own take on them. I allowed for the reader to see what they were like at the same time as Anna, rather than having her judge them too heavily one way or the other. Even the ghosts–characters who we never see and who can only talk through Anna–were richly described. They each had their own personality that you could see as they tried to impose as little as possible on Anna’s headspace. It’s a little hard for privacy when you’re sharing your mind with multiple ghosts.

I really enjoyed reading about her gifts and about the gifts other people had. I’m very excited to continue reading about them in the rest of the series. I’m glad this book is a series. Nothing was too watered down for the sake of stretching out the content, which is a complaint I’ve had before of series. I’m really curious how the events of this novel will expand in the next two books! I’m definitely going to continue the series, and I may check out more of Rysa Walker’s work in the meantime.

4 stars.

I received a copy of The Delphi Effect from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review. The Delphi Effect will be released on October 11th, 2016.

Leave a Reply

